Lifetype will no longer post images to new topics

Lifetype will no longer post images to new topics

Postby ohmster on Fri Sep 17, 2010 2:38 pm

I have setup lifetype-1.2.10 for one of my customers on his website in an iframe and it has always worked very, very good for him. All of a sudden, he now says he can no longer insert images into his blog posts. I go and check it out, if you click to insert a photo or resource, then browse for it from the resource albums, and click "add resource", normally you would get the picture to show in the blog post. Now you get either nothing or the picture description only, in this particular case, "Picture of the artist" shows up in a funny box but no picture. Clicking the "Blog This" button will post the new blog, but all I see is "Picture of the artist" in text, no image.

Let's look at the page source to see what is wrong with the img src tag. Got it, here is what the testing post html looks like, should contain a picture.

<div>
<p>
testing bog
</p>
<p>
<img alt="Picture of the artist" />
</p>
</div>


That is the image tag. No img src, only img alt. What the heck happened? Did he get a corruption of some php files? I have a backup of all the lifetype directory and sub directory files on my local hard drive. Should I upload them to godaddy and overwrite all or will this wipe out his configs and total setup? What individual php or other files are necessary to make posting the image work properly or could the database be corrupted? If so that would be bad, I have no way of making backups that I know of so I have none, no backups of his blog database.

Help me please Jon, I am a tiny, one man startup company and will not survive if I screw up any of my very few customers and he is my best one. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Paul Baio
http://www.paulspcworks.com/
ohmster
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 10:18 am
LifeType Version: lifetype-1.2.10_r696

Re: Lifetype will no longer post images to new topics

Postby ohmster on Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:29 pm

Dam, I really need help with this, it is over my head. I just did a version check on all files to see if any of them appear to be corrupted. I got back these results: All files are correct

I also did a version check: The current version of Lifetype is up to date

LifeType
The currently installed version of LifeType is:
lifetype-1.2.10_r6971

So if it is a bad php file, this is going to be one MF to fix. What is causing this? Starting to look like I might have to trash the entire thing and reinstall. Problem is, I want to use the existing database and config files, yet I do not know how to do this. This is a shame really, my customer really likes his Lifetype blog a whole lot. This will be a real dealbreaker for him to have to give it up or switch to another blog.

Someone (Jon) please help.

Update:
Restored an earlier working database file, did not help.
Uploaded and overwritten all lifetype files except gallary directory and it's subs, did not overwrite /lifetype/config/config.properties.php. Problem persists. img src= tag NOT being written to new posts or edited posts when resource is added to a post. I have done everything I can think of other than check every file and directory permission. I also reran the install wizard to no avail. I give up. I need help. 9/18/2010

Thanks.
Paul
ohmster
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 10:18 am
LifeType Version: lifetype-1.2.10_r696

Re: Lifetype will no longer post images to new topics

Postby jondaley on Sun Sep 19, 2010 2:39 pm

Weird. If the file check says the files are right, I'd believe it, so reinstalling won't help.

Probably the best way to fix it would be to get an admin login to your server, both a lifetype login, so I can duplicate the behavior that you are seeing, and then access to the files so I can add in some debug code to find out where the problem is. If you have shell access, that is the best, as it is way quicker for me to fix it, rather than just FTP.
jondaley
Lifetype Expert
 
Posts: 6169
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 6:19 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
LifeType Version: 1.2.11 devel branch

Re: Lifetype will no longer post images to new topics

Postby ohmster on Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:01 pm

Jon,

Thank God you replied. I spent so many hours, restoring a database from months ago to see if it was a database problem. No.
I uploaded and overwrote ALL files with originals but for config.properties.php because I did not want to do the database config all over again. The blog worked as it did prior, only now it was very much out of date, still not posting the "imc src=" tag. I added the path and img src tag myself in the html window and of course that did work but the blog owner will not be able to use his board that way. I really do not know what to do and this customer really depends on and has nothing but good things to say about Lifetype.

This is hosted on a godaddy.com cheap Linux server and always worked. I can think of no particular "event" that triggered this. I have FTP acccess and of course admin access to the blog and would be happy to give it to you, along with php myadmin access, but I cannot post such information on a public board like this. I doubt that godaddy will allow any sort of shell access, although that would be ideal. SSH or SSH2 maybe. I will try it with putty to see if it accepts my login and get back to you. I can call godaddy tech and ask for shell access but I doubt it.

Do you have my email address? Can you send me a "hey" message so I can send you login information to the blog? Blog is here:
http://www.jeanclaudearts.com/blog.html

I have to run it in an iframe to get it to fit into his site but it has always worked quite well this way. Please email me for admin logins:
The Ohmster AT comcast DOT net

I really need your help Jon, please. Tried to reach you at your "red website" but no matter what I say, even so much as a "hi how are you" resulted in "You are sending spam, denied."

Please help.

Thank you,
Paul
ohmster
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 10:18 am
LifeType Version: lifetype-1.2.10_r696

Re: Lifetype will no longer post images to new topics

Postby martinh on Tue Sep 21, 2010 2:43 am

I think it is a problem with the new Firfox Browser and Javascript. Today I updated my Seamonkey Browser. Now I've the problem with Seamonkey too.
martinh
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 7:32 am
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
LifeType Version: 1.2.11

Re: Lifetype will no longer post images to new topics

Postby martinh on Tue Sep 21, 2010 3:47 am

martinh
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 7:32 am
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
LifeType Version: 1.2.11

Re: Lifetype will no longer post images to new topics

Postby ohmster on Tue Sep 21, 2010 10:40 pm

I really appreciate your help, fellows, and I think you are on to something. I am using firefox and have no idea where these settings are that should be blocked.

i have fixed this problem

in the tiny_mce.js in the funktion "fixGeckoBaseHREFBug" i comment out this part:

if (m == 1) {
// h = h.replace(/\ssrc=/gi, " mce_tsrc=");
// h = h.replace(/\shref=/gi, " mce_thref=");

return h;
}

and it works


They mention tiny_mce.js. Where can this be found in Firefox configs? Also, if I try to use Internet Explorer 8, I have no tool bars on new posts. I really think you guys are on to something but without these details, I am a tad screwed. Thank you so much!

Paul
ohmster
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 10:18 am
LifeType Version: lifetype-1.2.10_r696

Re: Lifetype will no longer post images to new topics

Postby ohmster on Tue Sep 21, 2010 10:53 pm

Oh crap, I just did a:
[Paul@paulspcworks lifetype]$ grep -R MCE *

In my lifetype directory and these php pages are filled with it! There is no way I can find or figure where to disable this tnymce in lifetype to enable image posting again. Does anyone have any ideas? Jon, do you know what these guys are talking about?

Thank you all so much.

Paul
ohmster
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 10:18 am
LifeType Version: lifetype-1.2.10_r696

Re: Lifetype will no longer post images to new topics

Postby jondaley on Tue Sep 21, 2010 11:22 pm

Yes, I just figured out today that it was a new browser problem, since we are using an old version of tinymce. I had tried to upgrade tinymce a year or two ago, and it didn't look like it would be possible without major code rewriting on our part. But, today, I upgraded tinymce to the latest version and almost all features are working. I need to see what needs to be done about our custom tinymce plugins, and then I can release it.
jondaley
Lifetype Expert
 
Posts: 6169
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 6:19 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
LifeType Version: 1.2.11 devel branch

Re: Lifetype will no longer post images to new topics

Postby jondaley on Tue Sep 21, 2010 11:24 pm

Interesting about trying to send me email and getting a "you are sending spam" error. Which website/form were you using? I use a form of hiddeninput that shouldn't be possible to fail as a human. I did see a cellphone proxy server that was taking out the hidden form elements, but that proxy server needs to be fixed, lots of forms would fail if you don't send the hidden elements.
jondaley
Lifetype Expert
 
Posts: 6169
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 6:19 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
LifeType Version: 1.2.11 devel branch

Re: Lifetype will no longer post images to new topics BUG REPORT

Postby ohmster on Tue Sep 21, 2010 11:31 pm

UPDATE:

My current browser is Firefox 3.6.10 and I have the image posting problem. If I use Internet Explorer 8.0.7600.16385, I cannot even see the toolbar, much less post an image.

Interestingly enough, my Fedora 13 Linux computer is running Gnome on X and I have installed Firefox 3.6.7. Guess what? No problems posting images at all. Since Firefox has updated to 3.6.10, LIfetype will no longer post images in blog posts. The current Internet Explorer will not even show the toolbar.

LifeType itself needs a serious update. Consider this a very serious or critical bug report.


Until then, all I can do for my customer is try to find an old version of Firefox to install and then he can post images to his blog until LifeType itself gets an update. Anyone know where to get an older version of Firefox?

Thank you all, gentlemen. You have nailed the problem right on the head.
Paul
ohmster
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 10:18 am
LifeType Version: lifetype-1.2.10_r696

Re: Lifetype will no longer post images to new topics

Postby ohmster on Tue Sep 21, 2010 11:35 pm

Jon,

I see your answer, will wait for a new release of Lifetype or find an older version of Firefox if it will be a while.

The website where I could not form mail you at all because I was labeled a spammer no matter what I said was this site:
http://jon.limedaley.com/plog/

Thanks for your help.

One question. Will the new LifeType release be timely or is it best to put an impatient blogger back to an older version of Firefox for the time being? Thanks again.

Paul
ohmster
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 10:18 am
LifeType Version: lifetype-1.2.10_r696

Re: Lifetype will no longer post images to new topics

Postby martinh on Wed Sep 22, 2010 2:31 am

ohmster wrote:They mention tiny_mce.js. Where can this be found in Firefox configs?


It isn't in the Firefox configs. It's the WYSIWYG Editor in LifeType. You can find tiny_mce.js in root_lifetype/js/tinymce/tiny_mce.js. root_lifetype is your Lifetype folder on your webserver.
martinh
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 7:32 am
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
LifeType Version: 1.2.11

Re: Lifetype will no longer post images to new topics

Postby martinh on Wed Sep 22, 2010 2:33 am

jondaley wrote:I need to see what needs to be done about our custom tinymce plugins, and then I can release it.


That sounds great, Jon. Prima!
martinh
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 7:32 am
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
LifeType Version: 1.2.11

Re: Lifetype will no longer post images to new topics

Postby jondaley on Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:48 am

I did not try it, but a customer of mine said IE worked fine.
I'll take a look at the tinymce plugins today - if anyone wanted to help, that'd be great.

You should be able to use a nightly build from last night to get the latest stuff I'm working on. The plugins that I know need to be worked on are the "pagebreak" - I'll probably go back to the "more" plugin that we used before, since I assume it allows multiple page breaks, and our code doesn't support that right now. And then the plugins named "insert*", like insertaudio, insertvideo and insertresource. (and it'd be nice if the tinymce media plugin made our insertvideo plugin obsolete, but I don't think it does).
jondaley
Lifetype Expert
 
Posts: 6169
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 6:19 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
LifeType Version: 1.2.11 devel branch

Next

Return to Other Problems

cron