Upgrade left red "check version" files

Upgrade left red "check version" files

Postby ohmster on Mon Apr 05, 2010 9:50 am

Jon, thanks for the wiki links and for showing me where the docs are. I really could not find them, was not lazy, just did not know where to look. I am also not a php coder so I really do not understand a lot of this stuff, although I can hold my own in html. Thank you for your help and your ever straining patience with me Mr. Daley. :?

I updated from 1.2.8 to 1.2.9 to 1.2.10 as per jondaley by using the zip files only. I think this version is a LOT nicer and I might even get a plugin to work, especially anti-spam. The hidden input looks good but I cannot get it to work. I guess I just do not understand "How" it is supposed to work. I see no additional fields to fill out on the comment form, yet am always rejected. We will get to that.

The blog is here for anyone that wants to see it. It is a private blog, does not accept new members to start their own blogs, but user comments are encouraged and I would love if some of you would test leaving a comment and seeing if it works for you or not. I am trying to rid the comments of spam and this is more challenging than I thought.
http://www.jeanclaudearts.com/blog.html

What concerns me is the version check on all files. Jon says that there should be NO red files after a file version check, even when updating via the small version zip files. First 8 to 9, then 9 to 10. I did this and it seems to have worked, But in the admin panel there is a misc section where you can check versions and this is what I end up with. How do I fix this?

Is this a big problem and what can I do about it? If I unzip lifetype-1.2.10.zip into LifeType and allow overwrite, will I lose the entire blog? I know the information is stored in a database but how will the new files be able to access that database if they are all replaced with the new version files?