Convert from Yahoo 360 to LifeType

Convert from Yahoo 360 to LifeType

Postby thestroller on Mon Nov 05, 2007 3:51 am

Hello,

Recently Yahoo has released Yahoo Mash, and I heard that they will convert all Yahoo 360 users to Yahoo Mash in the future.

The problem is, a lot of people don't like Yahoo Mash. I think at this time, if LifeType has a plugin which can convert a Yahoo 360 blog to Lifetype, it will be a great thing!

In the past, there is a plugin can convert from "Blogger" to LifeType. So I think we can do with Yahoo 360.

So you, oscar, mark wu, jondaley,... Can you show me the idea to start this plugin?

Thank you
thestroller
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 12:05 am

Postby phunkphorce on Tue Nov 06, 2007 4:07 am

The Blogger plugin was rather hacky, all it was doing is log into your blogger account and then scrap the screen to find the text of your posts, and then post it back to LT. If you want to follow the same approach, then it's pretty straightforward, and the code for that plugin might even be available somewhere... Otherwise, all you need to do is get familiar with the API so that you know how to add categories, comments, articles, users and so on.
phunkphorce
Lifetype Expert
 
Posts: 9028
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 6:34 am
Location: Suomessa

Postby thestroller on Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:00 pm

Hello,

I'm writing this plugin. Now I can get all posts and comments from Yahoo 360.

But this is my problem:
- I want after getting one post and its comments, I will do a "refresh" (or "redirect") to the next post. I don't want to use the "header" function but the LT's way.

It's same as the "Purge Posts" process.

Please help me.

Thanks
thestroller
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 12:05 am

Postby thestroller on Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:15 pm

Oh,

Finally I found out the way you did with the clean up process.

I will followed this way.

Thank you
thestroller
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 12:05 am

Postby phunkphorce on Tue Nov 13, 2007 3:03 pm

I guess you already figured it out. It's not doing refreshes via headers, but via javascript, and the resulting page of each step returns some javascript code and a form that submits itself
phunkphorce
Lifetype Expert
 
Posts: 9028
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 6:34 am
Location: Suomessa

Postby thestroller on Wed Nov 14, 2007 7:44 am

Hello phunkforce,

Thanks for your reply.

The plugin is finished and it runs very OK. I am so happy now.

I am cleanning the code to share with someone else need it.

Thank you.
thestroller
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 12:05 am

Re: Convert from Yahoo 360 to LifeType

Postby thestroller on Wed Apr 02, 2008 4:42 pm

Hello,

I have cleaned the code and I hope it can help you. If there is any problem, please let me know.

This is the link: http://admin.vnweblogs.com/gallery/1/yahoo360.zip

Thank you
thestroller
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 12:05 am

Re: Convert from Yahoo 360 to LifeType

Postby jondaley on Wed Apr 02, 2008 9:55 pm

Thanks. Can you upload this to a bug report, so we have it and we won't forget about it?
jondaley
Lifetype Expert
 
Posts: 6169
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 6:19 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
LifeType Version: 1.2.11 devel branch

Re: Convert from Yahoo 360 to LifeType

Postby thestroller on Thu Apr 03, 2008 12:43 pm

Hi Jon,

I've uploaded to the Mantis. This is the link: http://bugs.lifetype.net/view.php?id=1483

Thank you
thestroller
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 12:05 am


Return to General Plugin Development

cron