My Site Project-- User Guide

My Site Project-- User Guide

Postby blacksnday on Wed Jul 06, 2005 9:42 am

Hello!
I have talked for months about creating a user guide
for my users on my site.

Well, I have finally completed the first stage, which
offers complete descriptions of all pugins being offered by
my blog hosting site.

You can view it at
http://site4me.us/?op=display&page=support

if anyone would be interested in reading and double checking
the info I provide is correct, then that would be great.
and please tell me if it works correctly in
Mac/Safari... as I have no way of testing.
It should work just fine in I.E. and Mozilla

If anyone would want to grab a copy of what I have done, let me
know and I will post all the details.

This is just the first section I am writing, since plugin usage is
the most important from a user point of view.

My next steps are to write detailed aspects of all other options
and eventually all tags, variables, ect, that can be used with
pLog.

With the current code I am using for this section, because of the conflicts
between I.E. and FireFox, I am forced to either make the
height of the box be
absolute
or
900px+

I dislike the absolute as it makes the box change based on the length
of content, and then centers the box.
However it may be better then having an outragous height set when
many times it isn't used.
blacksnday
 
Posts: 400
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2004 5:23 am
Location: Ohio, USA!

Postby jondaley on Wed Jul 06, 2005 10:43 am

That looks nice.
jondaley
Lifetype Expert
 
Posts: 6169
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 6:19 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
LifeType Version: 1.2.11 devel branch

Postby blacksnday on Sat Aug 20, 2005 12:02 am

Wanted to give an update on the user guide.
http://site4me.us/?op=display&page=support

I have received a few requests through email asking
if I could share my guide.
I am fine with that and offer the link to download the package
at the end of this post.

I need to make something CLEAR up front
for anyone wishing to use my User Guide!
This is more tailored to be used on my website.
Which means that IF YOU GRAB MY DOWNLOAD and
add to your website, you will need to edit to suit your website.

You shouldn't need to edit any code,
just the text I use in the Guide.

With the above said, then you can download if you wish.
The zip file does include a readme file.
http://site4me.us/UserGuide.zip

Eventually this will grow into a complete guide
for every possible action/option available to the user.

I know updating this has been slow going,
but I have been extremely busy building
my news script located at
http://www.vilificnews.info/dev/

cheers :D
blacksnday
 
Posts: 400
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2004 5:23 am
Location: Ohio, USA!

Guide Stlll Good to Go?

Postby colden on Wed Oct 19, 2005 4:20 pm

Is your Guide still avalable? I'm new with pLog, and just installed a new site.

Thanks
colden
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 10:17 am

Postby jondaley on Thu Oct 20, 2005 9:23 am

I think blacksnday gave up on plog to write his own software. There is the wiki - I didn't think to copy his user guide before he took it down.
jondaley
Lifetype Expert
 
Posts: 6169
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 6:19 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
LifeType Version: 1.2.11 devel branch

Postby colden on Thu Oct 20, 2005 10:20 am

Hmmm. He gave up and I've just begun. No problem. I'm more into substance than form anyway, although I'd like to find an easy way to post an image or two. Here's my new blog: http://truthpeeler.com/blog/
colden
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 10:17 am

Postby jondaley on Thu Oct 20, 2005 12:18 pm

What do you mean by "an easy way"? I don't use the resource center much, but I setup a blog for a guy who doesn't know much about html, etc. and he happily uploads images into the resource center and includes them with his posts, so I don't think it can be too difficult.
jondaley
Lifetype Expert
 
Posts: 6169
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 6:19 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
LifeType Version: 1.2.11 devel branch

Postby colden on Thu Oct 20, 2005 1:11 pm

jondaley wrote:What do you mean by "an easy way"? I don't use the resource center much, but I setup a blog for a guy who doesn't know much about html, etc. and he happily uploads images into the resource center and includes them with his posts, so I don't think it can be too difficult.

Well, I am new at this. Just installed it a couple days ago. At this point in the learning curve, I don't know what the Resource Center is, let alone uploading photos to it. Any info would be appreciated.

Thanks
colden
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 10:17 am

Postby jondaley on Fri Oct 21, 2005 8:28 am

I think it not that difficult? Go to the admin section, and click "manage resources" and upload some pictures, make some albums, etc.
Most templates have links to the albums from the front page, so you can see how you can have albums fully viewable, and then you can hide other albums, so the pictures are only linkable from posts.

Then, after you have uploaded some images, when you are adding a new post, there is a button to "insert resource" on the toolbar. You browse to the picture/document and add it to your post.
jondaley
Lifetype Expert
 
Posts: 6169
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 6:19 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
LifeType Version: 1.2.11 devel branch

Postby colden on Fri Oct 21, 2005 11:55 am

Thanks very much. The definitions do help.
colden
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 10:17 am

Resource Error

Postby newtech1 on Fri Oct 21, 2005 4:49 pm

One of the reasons in another post that I asked about docs for Resources is to make sure I have everything installed correctly and do know what resources we can include in the file.

I get the following error in admin when I try to upload an image:

Fatal error: Cannot instantiate non-existent class: gallerygdresizer in /var/www/public_html/domain/html/blog/class/gallery/resizers/galleryresizer.class.php on line 142

I also wanted to know if there is a way to make some resources available to clients who have blog sites on our server. So in other words is there some way to make an album on our blog available to our clients who have blogs?
newtech1
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 12:02 am
Location: Seattle, WA, USA

Re: Resource Error

Postby phunkphorce on Sat Oct 22, 2005 4:50 am

newtech1 wrote:One of the reasons in another post that I asked about docs for Resources is to make sure I have everything installed correctly and do know what resources we can include in the file.

I get the following error in admin when I try to upload an image:

Fatal error: Cannot instantiate non-existent class: gallerygdresizer in /var/www/public_html/domain/html/blog/class/gallery/resizers/galleryresizer.class.php on line 142


1) Make sure that class/gallery/resizer/gallerygdresizer.class.php is there

2) Are you running php5 by any chance?

I also wanted to know if there is a way to make some resources available to clients who have blog sites on our server. So in other words is there some way to make an album on our blog available to our clients who have blogs?


One album belongs to one blog, so you can't have an album that belongs to more than one blog.
phunkphorce
Lifetype Expert
 
Posts: 9028
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 6:34 am
Location: Suomessa

Postby newtech1 on Mon Oct 24, 2005 10:12 am

1)Yes the file is there
2) No I am not using php5
newtech1
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 12:02 am
Location: Seattle, WA, USA

Postby newtech1 on Tue Oct 25, 2005 7:32 am

Have not received a solution to my Resources problem listed above.
newtech1
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 12:02 am
Location: Seattle, WA, USA

Postby Monjo on Tue Oct 25, 2005 7:52 am

one album belongs to one blog, so you can't have an album that belongs to more than one blog.


However, they can always use you albums files using normal html "Insert/Modify image"
Monjo
Lifetype Expert
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 6:00 am
LifeType Version: not yet

Next

Return to Documentation

cron